Feast your eyes on some of this travel eye candy

Just in time for Valentine’s Day – some travel eye candy

There are a few things a girl loves more than a long weekend away. What makes this weekend even better is that it is Valentine’s Day AND Family Day – double the fun. I am off to Boston and then South Padre, Texas for the week and couldn’t be more excited. This will be the longest I have been out of Canada since my whirlwind four years around the globe. 1795780_10100916203707947_221930486_n

I have to admit (if it wasn’t already obvious enough from my first blog post) that I have a serious case of wanderlust. If I am not on a trip, I am planning a trip. If there is no trip in my foreseeable future – I will plan your trip and live through you.

Since coming back home, I have found my travel “shinspiration” through social media feeds, and of course blogging (all of my favourite things combined). If there is one thing Shine loves, it is a woman in control of her own destiny, and I can honestly say there are some kicka** women out there travelling solo.

Before I jet off for the week, I thought I’d give everyone a little Valentine’s Day present in the form of some eye candy – beautifully curated Instagram feeds of my favourite solo female travellers:

Curiosity Travels

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 12.45.51 AM

Jessica Wray has really made her way across the globe on her own terms. Once upon a time she was an English teacher in Korea, and then trekked across Southeast Asia, and finally found herself living as an expat in Madrid. She is currently in Brazil and her Instagram feed is giving me some serious travel-envy. How I Left Home with $4000 and Traveled for 4 Years is a great introductory post and really lets you believe you can conquer the world!

Learn to travel the world on Jessica’s Instagram!

Hippe in Heels

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 12.47.28 AM

Her blog name says it all – part hippie, part girly girl, I absolutely adore Rachel’s story. She has been living in Goa, India with her boyfriend for the past few years, and reveals how she left her secure job as a nurse in the US to follow her dreams and her heart. She talks the reality of everyday life in India, and her quirky experiences in her This Is India! series is something I look forward to reading. I never got to India when I was travelling because I was constantly told I couldn’t do it as a solo female traveller – Rachel proves us wrong!

Get lost in India on her Instagram!

The Blonde Abroad

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 12.48.41 AM

This girl has dominated the web in the travel blogging world, but she is also a serious lady boss. If you thought blogging couldn’t be a full-time gig, think again. Kiersten  left her finance job in LA and began travelling the world on a shoestring budget. Her blog post about her time in the Blue Lagoon in Iceland has had me daydreaming my own trip there on a daily basis. She now helps other bloggers build their brand, and does social media and marketing consulting with companies, all while constantly travelling the globe – oh, and she is always dressed fabulously.

Check out her Instagram!

I could probably name a hundred more, but those three ladies have been bringing me back on a daily basis over the last year – you never know where they’ll be next. Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 12.55.10 AM

Hopefully my V-day treat leaves you hungry for travel, and with a little sweet tooth for adventure. If you’re looking for some more  inspiration, be sure to check out and follow Shine PR’s Instagram feed – all of the girls will be travelling somewhere warm and sunny over the next week – Mexico, Australia, Florida and Texas – I am sure there will be a few beach worthy photos to keep you hooked – and of course all of the usual pretty and bright Shine content we all know you love.

Until next time (and hopefully with some sun-kissed skin),

– B

xo

 

One thought on “Feast your eyes on some of this travel eye candy

Leave a comment